The Broad

So. There’s this new major art museum in DowntownIMG_0260 LA. The Broad (pronounced with a long o sound, like road with a B up front) with its white facade paints a contrasting picture to its across-the-street neighbor, the silver sails on the Walt Disney Concert Hall.

Read two articles about the museum here and here.

Tickets are free, but must be reserved in advance. Since the museum has only been open for a hair over a month, one cannot commandeer these on a whim. BUT, if you show up at least 30 minutes before opening time at 10:30 a.m., chances are good you can get in anyway. At least on a weekday. At least we were lucky enough.

We took advantage of a free day during the college’s fall break to give this place a look-see. One of my favorite things about visiting an art museum is taking my own photos. Aside from taking pictures of art I like (especially if it is new to me), I like to try to make my own art. Here are some of my favorites.

I like playing with the panorama feature on my new iPhone.


IMG_0225

IMG_0226

Peeking through the Broad’s facade looking toward Disney Concert Hall

I liked the reflections of the ceiling in this doggie-balloon shiny sculpture, and the shiny bunny sculpture with the doggy.

This is the line we waited in to reserve a 45-second visit into the Infinity Mirrored Room. It was pretty cool.

Some final exterior shots.

Leave a Reply

